Jan. 12, 2021


2 min read

World Bank makes follow ups on its projects in Lesotho

World Bank makes follow ups on its projects in Lesotho

The Minister of Development Planning Selibe Mochoboroane

Metro Radio Podcast

Catch our weekly audio broadcast every Friday only on Metro Radio Podcast News.

listen now

About Metro Sponsored Stories

The Metro sponsored stories are produced in association with paying partners. If you would like to speak to our team about producing and publishing high quality content on our site.

Contact us

THE Executive Director for Africa Group 1 Constituency, Dr Taufila Nyamadzabo says his visit to Lesotho this week is aimed at making follow ups on the World Bank sponsored projects in the country.

This, Dr Nyamadzabo said on Monday during a meeting he had in Maseru with the Minister of Development Planning Selibe Mochoboroane. He mentioned that part of the agenda of his visit includes discussing the issue of the COVID-19 vaccine with the Lesotho government.  
He said the discussions will also focus on strategies on issues related to the constituency, the mid-term review and the human resource support.
For his part, Mr Mochoboroane said he is aware that most projects which are funded by the World Bank face slow progression due to lack of monitoring therefore support of the bank on issues of monitoring and evaluation will highly be appreciated.
He said despite the challenges that some of the projects face, the successful ones have however, positively changed the lives of Basotho.

Enjoy our daily newsletter from today

Access exclusive newsletters, along with previews of new media releases.

Lesotho is amongst the 22 African countries which receive financial support from the World Bank due to its poor economic background. The Office of the Executive Director (EDS14) known as Africa Group 1 Constituency represents Botswana, Burundi, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Share the story