March 14, 2022


2 min read

Majoro unmoved by efforts to unseat him

Majoro unmoved by efforts to unseat him

Prime Minister Dr Moeketsi Majoro

Story highlights

    PM says his government remains intact
    A total of 21 ABC MPs rally behind the premier

Metro Audio Articles

Catch our weekly audio news daily only on Metro Radio Podcast News.

listen now

A merger of political parties represented in the National Assembly has thrown its weight behind the continued premiership of incumbent Prime Minister Moeketsi Majoro.

In a media briefing held at the new State House in Maseru on Monday present to express solidarity with Dr Majoro’s embattled government were the Deputy Prime Minister and leader of the Democratic Congress (DC) Mathibeli Mokhothu, former Prime Minister Pakalitha Mosisili, leader of the Basotho National Party (BNP), Machesetsa Mofomobe, the Movement for Economic Change (MEC) leader, Selibe Mochoboroane, Popular Front for Democracy (PFD) leader, Advocate Lekhetho Rakuoane, Basutoland Congress Party leader, Advocate Thulo Mahlakeng, Reformed Congress of Lesotho (RCL) leader Keketso Rantšo, leader of National Independence Party (NIP), Kimetso Mathaba and a representative of the Marema-Tlou Freedom Party (MFP).

Speaking at the briefing, Dr Majoro said his government remains intact, and under no threat despite several attempts at dislodging him from Qhobosheaneng’s top seat.

He reassured the nation that the present executive shall remain in office to lead the country to the forthcoming September 2022 polls.

On the other hand, Mr Mokhothu said his party remains a willing and comfortable partner to the current ruling coalition government and will hold the position until the next elections. He further poured scorn over the recent attempt by the ABC to withdraw from the coalition.

“The efforts were futile and remain null and void,” he said.

Majoro unmoved by efforts to unseat him

RCL leader, Keketso Rantšo

Enjoy our daily newsletter from today

Access exclusive newsletters, along with previews of new media releases.

Majoro unmoved by efforts to unseat him

Deputy Prime Minister Mathibeli Mokhothu

According to Mr Mokhothu, the political merger behind Majoro’s administration has parliamentary majority, which leaves the government in a safe space.

The government, he said has the support of 21 ABC Members of Parliament (MPs) behind Majoro, with the backing of 29 from his own party.

The MEC has five, BNP four, PFD three while BCP, RCL and the MFP each has one MP – to make a total of 66 legislators behind Dr Majoro’s government.

This gives the prime Minister an edge over his ABC stalwarts pushing for his ouster in the 120-member National Assembly – which currently has only 115 members following five vacancies which are yet to be filled.



Share the story