Metro Rate Cards

Table Tennis Lesotho to host AUSC Championship

Oct. 31, 2019 2 min read

MASERU - An agreement has been reached that comes as a swift rescue for Lesotho to host AUSC Region 5 Table Tennis championships from 6 - 10 December.

This comes after a high profile meeting held by the Lesotho Sports and Recreation Commission (LSRC), Lesotho National Olympic Committee (LNOC) and International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) presidents on 25 October.  About two weeks ago, the issue of lack of financial support once again materialised, hence jeopardizing Lesotho’s hosting rights. Lesotho Table Tennis Association (LTTA) public relations officer, Ms Thato Mathibeli confirmed the meeting between the two bodies’ presidents from Friday to Saturday. 

“The presidents held several meetings from Friday until Saturday and they also met the minister of Gender, Youth, Sports and Recreation and reached a consensus,” she said.  Ms Mathibeli further said a press briefing was yet to be held whereby full details of the presidents’ meeting shall be officially disclosed to the public. “The press conference will be held probably on Friday November 1,” she said. There is a slight change of the dates for this championship. Initially it was scheduled for December 6 -10, but the latest and final dates are December 5 to 9. LTTA has already held the national championships to select the team that will represent Lesotho in the competition. 

Enjoy our daily newsletter from today

Access exclusive features and newsletters, along with previews of new media releases.

Due to lack of financial support, team Lesotho is not yet in camp while other countries have started preparations for the competition. The championships are expected to be attended by 10 regional countries. This is the very first international table tennis championships the country hosts in its long history in sports. Team Lesotho squad comprises eight players, four males and four females.

Team Lesotho squad: 

Male players: Khethang Mothibi, Tšeliso Chere, Likhetho Mothibi and Hareteke Mapeshoane.

Female players: Matšeliso Chere, Thato Mathibeli, Nthabeleng Mokeki and Realeboha Bofelo. 

Share this story


Loading Question

Related Stories