LRSC to host the second Sports Awards


MASERU (TNS) – Lesotho Sports and Recreation Commission (LSRC) will host the 2018 Lesotho Annual Sports Awards (LASA). This will be for the period of January to December 2017 while the second Edition will be held on March 17, 2018 at the Convention Centre.

In April, the LSRC embarked on the celebration of LASA in a bid to recognise, embrace and reward all Basotho who are excelling in their respective sport disciplines. This comes after the 2016 Inaugural Sports Legacy Awards which were tailored to honour legends who had continuously contributed to the development of sport in Lesotho.

People were requested to submit nominees for these Awards on or before January 12 and the LSRC attached the LASA second edition key points and nomination summary. Further documents (Rules book and nomination forms), and were available on the LSRC blog: and the LSRC Website: and they were expected to be accompanied by a filled general nomination form.

The evaluation panel is already working on the nomination forms to select award winners and this information was sent to all National Association and federation to pass it on to the members by the office of LSRC Chief Executive Officer to the Secretaries.

Meanwhile, the office of LSRC Chief Executive Officer has written to all secretaries of all National Federations (NF’s) and Association in October, requesting membership information as per LSRC/AD/11 circular notice and following NF’s have complied.

In all there were 11 Federations and associations and were: Chess Federation of Lesotho (CFL), Lesotho Boxing Association (LeBA), Lesotho Table Tennis Association (LeTTA), Federation of Handball Lesotho (FHL), Lesotho Baseball and Softball Association (LBSA), Lesotho Weightlifting Federation (LWF), Lesotho Gymnastic Association (LAGYM) and Lesotho Cricket Association (LCA).

The Lesotho Universities and Colleges Association (LUCSA) and Lesotho Badminton Association (BAL) were awaiting approval to be a member of the commission. Metro Spot has also learned that there were nineteen more who had complied out of 32 members Federations and Associations.

LRSC Chief Executive Officer Mofihli Makoele told Metro Sports that, ‘Although Lesotho Football Association at the time was not amongst the associations or federations who had submitted, it has qualities that can be emulated by others such as a clear players data base, regional coaches and sub-committees. Of course by so saying this shouldn’t be construed that I am advertising them.’

‘In the case of the LASA, Evaluation panel began with the duty of evaluating the nominations on the 29th January and they are expected to have completed the job on 02nd February 2018. On the 05th till 08th February 2018 then LSRC CEO will verify the finalist and announce to the public on 09th February 2018.’

‘Voting will last for a month starting on 09th February till 09th March for Journalist and Sport Show/Column. Deadline is on February 28 and tickets will be on sale via Mpesa, Eco Cash and LSRC bank Acc 626162094248 @ FNB,’ concluded Makoele.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *